Skip to content

Australian Women Writers Challenge for 2015

January 6, 2016

AUSTRALIAN WOMEN WRITERS CHALLENGE for  2015

The chaos of my own life during the last year has meant that I have read fewer AWW books than in previous years.  I have also been absent from the conversations that I have enjoyed before.  I am sorry.  I hope to continue my reading and commenting in 2016, but who knows what 2016 will bring?

Although few, the AWW books I have read have been particularly fine. They are quite varied, and I can’t chose which is “best.” Check out my reviews to see which one you might enjoy.  I recommend all of them to one group of readers or another.
Tomorrow & Tomorrow & Tomorrow, by M. Barnard Eldershaw

Wave, by Hoa Pham

The Return, by Silvia Kwon

Isobel on the Way to the Corner Shop, Amy Witting.

Exiles at Home: Australian Women Writers, 1925-1945, by Drusilla Modjeska.

Heat and Light, Ellen Van Neerven.

The Floating Garden, by Emma Ashmere.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2016 6:52 pm

    Well, you’re ahead of me *smile* because my Barnard Eldershaw (A House was Built) is still unread on my shelf. I must get to it soon.
    Also unread as yet is The Floating Garden which I bought after reading your review, so that’s one sale at least that the author owes to you!
    I liked The Return too, and I’ve been a fan of Witting for many years.

    I don’t do challenges any more. They either made me feel guilty for ‘failing’ them or they pressured me into reading whatever it was, just because of the challenge. I’ve got some long term goals, to read all the Nobels (except the poets) and all the Miles Franklin winners (except some more recent ones which I tried and abandoned because I just didn’t like them). But that’s all. Happy reading, that’s what I say. Read for pleasure, as and when and how it suits you:)

    • January 11, 2016 9:10 am

      Thanks. For me challenges have been a good way for me to learn about books and bloggers from other parts of the world. Such as you. I just don’t play attention to the numbers and requirements until I add them up at the end of the year.

      • January 11, 2016 6:03 pm

        If I could do them in a relaxed way, I’d do them too. But I end up obsessing about them instead. I wonder if that’s a condition diagnosed in the Psychological Disorders Handbook?

  2. January 9, 2016 2:39 pm

    Oh, I definitely want to read Amy Whitting this year. Loved Ellen can’t Neerven last year.

  3. June 4, 2016 11:48 pm

    I’m with you Marilyn, challenges help me focus on reading wider but I refuse to feel guilty if life’s circumstances prevent me from completing my quota. As you can see from this very late comment, I too am struggling to keep up with everybody but that doesn’t mean I am not thinking of you and your blog. You review very interesting books.

Leave a comment