Skip to content

About Myself and Reading Global Women Writers of Color

December 30, 2012

I have added this page to my Global Women of Color Challenge/Blog at gwcbooks.wordpress.com. I thought readers here might be interested in what I hope to do there.

About Myself and Reading Global Women Writers of Color

I am a retired professor of US women’s history, now living in the desert mountains of far west Texas. I love reading books by both men and women of all nationalities and ethnicities. Theoretically any one can write well about any topic, but in realities many writers draw on their own experiences of gender and place. Books by global women of color have long had a special meaning for me.

When I was in grad school, African American women writers, along with various feminists, helped me envision what it meant to be a woman. They gave me alternative visions that allowed me to move beyond the helpless, white lady I had been raised to be. Their stories were central to my teaching and research. Since I have retired, I have expanded my reading to include more Chicana and Native American women and more women of color worldwide. They have taught me much about the world we all share and touched me deeply with the similarities and differences between my life and theirs.

In addition, recent writings by feminists stress the need for solidarity across global boundaries. Many US readers would like to affirm that solidarity, but know little about those whose lives whose are unlike our own. Reading writers who draw on their experiences with other settings is an easy and enjoyable way to learn about and understand why other women have needs and values that conflict with ours.

Since I began blogging I have also been troubled by bloggers who seem to assume that books by women writers of all races are trivial and apologize for reading them. The books by global women of color quickly correct that assumption. In their stories the private, domestic world of much USA fiction is seldom isolated from its public, political context. Even when narratives focus on families, life is structured by local values and practices and often invaded by conflict and violence.

And, of course, many women of color are simply excellent writers. I hope you will join me in reading and discussing their books either by joining this challenge or by following this blog.

Thank you for your interest.

Marilyn Dell Brady
Alpine, Texas
“Me, You, and Books” mdbrady [at] wordpress.com
mdellbrady@gmail.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2012 4:33 pm

    It’s lovely to learn more about you, and about your wonderful project. Warmest wishes for a peaceful, productive and contented 2013, Marilyn!

    • December 31, 2012 1:51 pm

      Thanks. And all the best to you as you forward with your new beginnings.

  2. December 31, 2012 11:42 am

    Marylin, I want to join this challenge. Infact, I ought to. I think it is a great idea.

  3. December 31, 2012 1:52 pm

    Great. I look forward to your insights, especially on African women’s books.

Leave a Reply

