Skip to content

PERSONAL BOOK GIVEAWAY

March 30, 2012

WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH

I am weeding my book shelves and would like to give away some books related to feminist theory, European women’s history, and various women’s concerns. All are clean and free from markings. These are good books, but I am just running out of room. Maybe I will have more about U.S. women’s history and diveristy next year.

Books will be given with priority to the first request and to those willing to help with postage. I am estimating $3 for one book or $10 for four for the continental U.S. I will negociate other arrangments as requested. Sorry I can’t afford all the postage myself.

Mitchell, Juliet, ed. What is Feminism?: a Re-examination.

Schneir, Miriam. Feminism in Our Time: The Essential Writings, World War II to the Present.

Showalter, Elaine, ed. Speaking of Gender.

Tuana, Nancy, ed. Feminism and Science.

Keller, Evelyn Fox, and Helen Longino. Feminism and Science. (Oxford Readings in Feminism)

Wheleham, Imelda. Modern Feminist Thought: From Second Wave to “Post-Feminism.”

Bell, Susan, ed. Women: From the Greeks to the French Revolution.

Pomeroy, Sarah. Goddesses, Whores, Wives, and Slaves: Women in Classical Antiquity.

Gies, Frances and Joseph. Women in the Middle Ages: The Lives of Real Women in a Vibrant Age of Transition.

Bogin, Meg. The Women Troubadours.

Walsh, Elizabeth. Women in Western Civilization.

Harriman, Helga. Women in the Western Heritage.

Orenstein, Peggy. Young Women, Self-Esteem, and the Confidence Gap.

Wolf, Naomi. The Beauty Myth: How Images of Beauty are Used Against Women.

Swift, Casey. Words and Women: New Language in New Times.

Caplan, Paula. The Myth of Women’s Masochism.

Brownstein, Rachel. Becoming a Heroine: Reading about Women in Novels.

Seifer, Nancy. Nobody Speaks for Me! Self-Portraits of American Working Class
Women.

Rubin, Lillian. Families on the Fault Lines: America’s Working class speak about the Family, the Economy, Race, and Ethnicity.

Rubin, Lillian. Worlds of Pain: Life in the Working-Class Family.

Debold, Elizabeth, et al. Mother Daughter Revolution: From Good Girls to Great Women.

Cherniavsky, Eva. That Pale Mother Rising: Sentimental Discourses and the Imitation of Motherhood in 19th-Century America.

Walters, Suzanna. Lives Together, Worlds Apart: Mothers and Daughters in Popular Culture.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2012 4:18 pm

    Oh, these loos great! Can I claim The Beauty Myth, Feminism and Science, and two others of your choosing? I’m definitely willing to pay postage.

    You can email me at stackwanderer AT the gmailz for specifics.

  2. April 3, 2012 7:57 am

    If still available, I am interested in

    Bell, Susan, ed. Women: From the Greeks to the French Revolution.
    Brownstein, Rachel. Becoming a Heroine: Reading about Women in Novels.
    Seifer, Nancy. Nobody Speaks for Me! Self-Portraits of American Working Class
    Women.

    The postage to Connecticut, U.S.A., will probably be at least $10. If will be convenient to pay by Paypal. You can email me at negluck at yahoo and let me know what we can do.

    • April 3, 2012 10:30 am

      Great choices. I’m not on PayPal and will need to think about how to manage postage. I’ll be back in touch. Thanks.

  3. April 17, 2012 8:02 am

    Ooohhhhh I’m very very interested in this, I have to say! I do spend enough time in the US that I could probably arrange to have books shipped to a hotel. Perhaps could you email me at amy.mckie[at]gmail.com and let me know what shipping might be (or where you are shipping from, if possible?). I’m going to have to look into the various titles and pick the ones that seem the most exciting!!

    • April 17, 2012 5:39 pm

      Did you get a reply from me? I thought I had replied, but seem to have lost it.

      Very glad to give you books. Maybe some black women’s ones not on the list.

      My address is Alpine, Texas, 79830. 200 miles east of El Paso

      Marilyn

Leave a Reply

