Skip to content

WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH

March 1, 2012

When I read Melissa’s post @ Feminist Texan Reads about how she is celebrating Women’s History Month, I decided to follow her example.

Like her I will be sure and include some reviews of women’s history and women’s studies books. Here are a few titles I plan to discuss.

New reads for me:
Ruiz, From Out of the Shadows: Mexican Women in Twentieth-Century America.
Blackwelder, Women of the Depression: Caste and Culture in San Antonio.
Ahmed, Women and Gender in Islam.
Ricciutelli, et al., Feminist Politics [Global and local feminisms]
DuPlessis & Snitow, Feminist Memoir Project

Old favorites to share:
Cowan, More Work for Mother: The Ironies of Household Technology.
Breines, Young, White and Miserable: Growing Up Female in the Fifties.
Jacobs, Incidents in the Life of Slave Girl.
Rich, Of Woman Born.
Walker, In Search of Our Mother’s Gardens.

Maybe I will create a page focusing on women history or feminism or began to assemble lists about women writers worldwide.

I also want to give away books, before they crowd me out of my house. Some in great shape, shamefully never read. Others, however, have been read and reread, written in, abused, and love. They need tolerant new homes. Is anyone out there interested in these? Please let me know and I will make a list of them.

More later.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 9:08 pm

    I can’t wait to see your posts! 😀

Leave a Reply

