Skip to content

Pirate King, by Laurie R. King

January 5, 2012

BOOK REVIEW: Laurie R. King. Pirate King: A Novel of Suspense Featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes. NY: Bantam Books, 2011.
Source: Christmas gift from my daughter who knows my reading tastes very well.

Another in King’s series featuring Mary Russell and her detective partner/husband, Sherlock Holmes. A rollicking story of mystery and adventure punctuated with quotes from Shelly and subtle jibs at conventional gender roles. Encountering Russell’s distinctive voice again–very bright, observant and well-educated, I felt like I was hearing a friend speaking across a room full of strangers. The plot plays with what is real and what is fictional, and is a preposterous spoof of the Pirates of Penzance. It is so preposterous that Russell allows us to consider the story–and her–as fiction, just this one time, although of course she knows better because she was there. That is part of the fun. I thought the ending hilarious, but you need to be in the right mood.

Not as deep as King’s Folly and Touchstone, but I find the series delightful.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2012 1:42 am

    I love this series too! Pirate King surprised me, but I had such fun with it. The ending made me laugh out loud. 😀

  2. Sally McNall permalink
    January 16, 2012 6:36 pm

    I wouldn’t call this speculative fiction, a term which I like to reserve for alternative history on a larger scale (KS Robinson’s Years of Rice and Salt–what happens if all the Europeans die in the Black Plague??) or science fiction like Tepper’s first and best book, Grass

Leave a Reply

