Skip to content

MY FIRST POST

December 30, 2011

Welcome to my first blog post, a major step in the work-in-progress that is my creation of a blog.

I only recently discovered blogging and was quickly hooked, especially on blogging about books.  I browsed and read and now and then commented while I thought about what I wanted my blog to be.  Then I encountered “choosing a theme” and all the technicalities of actual setting up a blog for myself.  I am learning as I go and not really settled where I am.  The boxes don’t fit me and my needs very well, and I don’t always understand the implications of my choices.  But I have to start somewhere to figure out what I can do.  You can expect changes. Please be patient and feel free to offer suggestions, especially about book blogging.

Choosing a name for my blog and a couple of identifying images was equally traumatic.  I tried “Alone in the Desert with Books,” and made a few comments under that name.  But for me blogging is about not being alone.  I decided to use “Sharing Books” and an image of two women talking.  The image is from a note card I picked up one summer at an NEH seminar on women’s history.  It seemed, then and now, to convey an image of something that I value and seek.   My header is the view out my bedroom window—what I see when I wake in the morning.  This was what I saw on Christmas morning this year.

For any of you who already know me, my email address is also changing, though I had less choice about what it would be.  We are simply shifting to an upgraded and newly available server. This is my new address.

What I hope to do is write one or two book reviews a month, make comments and contribute to some challenges and groups, and make briefer responses on my other reads.  I will intersperse these with more general comments on life and what we need to be doing to save our endangered nation and globe.

I am looking forward to good conversations.  I hope you will stick around.

Marilyn

P.S. My daughter just looked up my last blog name and told me about the others who were using it. So I am trying again with name number three; after “Alone in the desert” and “Sharing Books.”

At the same time I am creating my blog, we are shifting to a faster version of gmail. Another series of problems are surfacing. If you have trouble contacting me or my blog, try both mdbrady and mdellbrady.

As you probably have noticed, I have my blog main pieces up, but filling them in, making links hot, etc. will take a while.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 12:40 am

    Welcome to blogging! I look forward to continuing to read your posts. I love when another feminist minded person starts sharing 🙂

    • January 5, 2012 1:44 am

      Thanks. I love being back in contact with other feminists. Just being able to admit too my feminist mindset is great.

  2. January 4, 2012 1:19 am

    Welcome to book blogging! We all tend to experiment and change things up until we find the perfect system for us…and then pretty soon we start tweaking that too. 😉 Your blog looks lovely as it is: I especially like your About page and tagline. 🙂 Have you discovered Belletrista (http://www.belletrista.com/2011/Issue14/index.php) yet? I suspect you’ll like it!

    • January 4, 2012 3:32 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement. No, I hadn’t found Belletrista. I am excited about exploring it.

  3. January 4, 2012 8:38 pm

    Welcome to book blogging. Everything you’ve said about women writers resonates with me. All the best.

    • January 5, 2012 1:39 am

      Thanks. I am very interested in your African challenge and eager to learn more. Your Eastern Europe one intriques me, too, but I already have too many books by African women on my BTR shelf. I am afraid I am getting overextended, so I think I will just follow along there.

  4. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    January 5, 2012 4:18 am

    Welcome to book blogging! I look forward to following your reviews

    • January 6, 2012 12:11 am

      Thanks. I looked forward to being part of your Austrailian women writers challenge.

  5. January 8, 2012 12:45 am

    Welcome! I look forward to following you and reading with you on projects and the like 🙂 As others have said, bloggers seem to be changing templates and layouts and etc often, I know I still do!!

  6. January 7, 2012 10:21 pm

    Welcome aboard! I find it difficult to fit into boxes as well. I think it’s okay not to. My blog has evolved a lot over the past two years and if I keep it going I imagine that I will say the same thing two years from now. It’s all part of the process. 🙂
    I look forward to following your review here.
    Cheers,
    Nicki

Leave a Reply

